Tuesday, November 11, 2008

Watch this video Alisha

And everyone else. When you have time. It's about 20 minutes long, but this guy has some brilliant things to say.


We've watched a ton of these TED talks in class this semester. They're all pretty great.

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

Monday, October 27, 2008

Not boys..

haha sorry Alisha. Not talking about boys here. Basically, I'm too excited about Halloween to think about anything else.
I seriously haven't been this excited about a halloween costume since preschool when I was Jasmine and wore my costume basically the whole week leading up to Halloween.
I want to do that again. But I'm older and have more restraint... So I'll cut it down to trying it on about once a day until then. Especially once I dye my hair.

hah I don't even have plans yet. But hopefully I will.
I also have a very busy week, which is super-lame.
Oh well.
Hopefully Alisha is as excited about her awesome costume as I am, and we will post pictures! yes!? yes!

The end!!

Thursday, October 16, 2008

At last.

A topic I think both Kelly and I can mutually discuss. A topic that's actually very relevant in both our lives.

BOYS.

Not even men, no. I don't think any I've been around can be given that honor yet. I'm hoping that they might someday. I think both Kelly and I are in romantic places adequately labeled "meh." Not that there's nothing going on, but just-meh! Maybe that's not true, but it's frustrated me to the point of exhaustion, so the only way to respond is "meh."

So. Being free of my long relationship did something really good for me. Don't know exactly what, but I was always in such a happy place! Everything was awesome! Now, a mere three months, one tipsy perception, many hormones, lots of indecision, and multitudes of hypocrisy later, I'm fighting to find happiness in the places I did before. When I was newly single, it was incredibly easy to think simply. As in, if you love someone-be together; if you know (even deep down) that you don't-don't be together. I'm not going to throw that away, because it is a core truth that you can't forget. But in my situation, I'm attracted to a person who I love talking to, but whose entire being I am completely repelled by. Ultimately, I had to come to my senses and say ATTRACTION IS NOT ENOUGH. But it doesn't mean it left matters that simple. Especially since this happens to be a very proud and determined person.

But it's okay because I'm darn-tootin more stubborn than he is. And my course of action is easy-no no no.

I hope Kelly will explain her situation so I can comment on it next time. I feel like introducing it for her would be a bad idea, as much as I would like to talk about it now.

Postscript: No worries about finding simple pleasures. The grass is still green, Christmas is still coming, and horrible repugnant bitch is still an AWESOME phrase.

Thursday, September 25, 2008

Politics?

Am I allowed to do this? It isn't really politics... It's economics. And I'm pretty sure we can have good conversations about this.

We watched this today in my TCom 204 class. I didn't even know the President was even speaking last night, and if I had known, I can't say I would have watched it... but I sure am glad I did. I think you all should watch it. Unfortunately I can't get the video to go here, so here's the link.

from CNN.com: Bush Economic Address

Because of the awesome trip to Europe this summer I'm planning, I've been keeping close watch on the value of the dollar. And it's been falling fast. Hopefully that's nothing new to you.
Did you watch the video? It's only 12 minutes. And I'm not really a fan of Bush, but I enjoyed this.

So if you didn't watch it you should. Right now.
Basically It was easy for banks to give loans, so they did. People who couldn't afford houses bought them anyways because, hey, they can get a loan for it! because people paying interest on loans is how banks make money. But in the long run they got screwed because those people couldn't pay back the loans blahblahblah. Those people tried to sell their houses, but no one could buy them, the price of houses went down drastically. Now all the banks are about to die, as well as businesses. Everything's just pretty awful. So Bush wants to take $700 billion of our taxes ($700,000,000,000!) and buy the bonds that no one else can buy. This will help the banks and businesses get back on their feet. However they'll also basically be pumping more money into the economy. Can we say inflation?

Yes, but if taxes are raised, then it will be okay... Okay in that the value of the dollar won't go down. But you know, taxes will be higher, and nobody wants to do that. But it looks like its necessary. I dunno, maybe there's another way?

You know things are bad when Bush, a republican, wants to step in and fix things with the economy. If people started getting scared, and took their money out of banks, and the stock market, there's a very good chance we could go into another depression.

Anyways, this next video isn't as long, and sorry its such awful quality, but here's a lesson America needs to learn.
Don't buy stuff you can't afford:
SNL-Debt Consolidation (w/Steve Martin)


So in other words, it looks like Mary and I picked an awful time to go to Europe... and Alisha, you picked a bad time to go to London.
But who cares! It'll be awesome.


You know what... while I'm at it:
Don't shop at Wal-Mart (http://walmartwatch.com/) It's DESTROYING THE WORLD. FOR REAL. heh
Um a fence on the Mexican border is an awful idea.
and we need to get rid of NAFTA.

...just some ideas.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Mary's listening to Christmas music already.

And I'm allowing it.

This is a pointless post but, it has to be made because I love this postsecret postcard and I want everyone to see it.

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Two Great Musicians?

Or two greatest musicians?




































Anyways.

Here's a random thought I had while wearing my Andrew Bird shirt today.

Just imagine:
Andrew Bird, and Regina Spektor. What if they made a baby. Together.
awwwwwww, right?
Possibly the cutest most talented little human being to walk the planet! For real! Best, sweetest, most brilliant, talented musical genius ever!
I know this is probably very unlikely, but seriously... For the good of mankind, have sex you two!

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Dweeedopdweedooo.

Aw, Kelly and her roommate. It's too bad there aren't more people like that at my school. Maybe it's because I'm not good at going out and meeting people that I haven't found a perfect niche yet. You know, those people that just seem like you. Though I doubt I'll find many people as insecure as I am, there will at least be some people who have the same interests. Or can introduce me to potential interests. Like Katie, who showed me riceboy. Oh and it's a little strange how similar Katie and Kelly are. (:

Soooo my roommate, Hailey, is a girl I've known since junior high. Oh, we even dated the same guy! Course she dated him in junior high and I dated him up till a few months ago. And it was such a traumatic break up too...Okay. Just kidding. Although I admit drama/gossip is a very guilty very minor pleasure of mine, it was possibly the smoothest and most civil split ever. Moving on! Hailey and I are such polar opposites, it's funny how great we get along as roommates. Everyone thought we'd kill each other. :P Jokes on you! Instead we're painting wooden letters to put on our door and having a blast. Just goes to show how everything changes when you 1: get to college, and 2: live with someone.

So I really like books, especially literature. Unfortunately, I think I like reading it because it sounds good as much as actually liking it. Well, don't we all want to feel smart? Either way, Jane Eyre is the first classic I read, and I love it to pieces. Sincerely too. I was too young then to really think literature was "cool." Ah, naive youth! :D

Hehe so anyway. Then I read Jasper Fforde's The Eyre Affair which is a great book if you ever get around to reading it. Very witty, very satirical, and a great balance between smart and entertaining. It's like mixing the best of Jane Eyre, Twilight, and the Screwtape Letters. Haha okay so that's not going to be right but it IS well written, capturing/entertaining, and brilliantly satirical. Plus, it cemented my love for Jane Eyre.

So Katie started The Eyre Affair last year, but hadn't read Jane Eyre. She put The Eyre Affair on hold to read Jane Eyre and finished it recently, so today we were talking about it. We came to the conclusion that we loved it, but had no idea why. It's a story I just wanted to keep reading and remains one that I reread over and over. But who knows why? It's kind of depressing sometimes and damn odd other times. And this dark chocolate I'm eating is way too addicting for my good.

Ugh this is so dumb. I hate this entry already. Kelly's is way more amusing. Only reason I'm writing this is to answer to hers so that our blog is more coherent. I'm beginning to think it'd be better as incoherent and with independent entries than half assed related entries. Hrm, we'll take this into account.

Maybe not using big words or big sentences will help. Sorry, it's just all this time with Peter Anderson, my brilliant Nigerian lit professor. I'm so terrified I won't write a good paper that I'm going around thinking in essay-nese all the time!

THIS IS SUCH A LONG ENTRY. I'M PUTTING THIS LINE IN CAPS TO MAKE IT LOOK BROKEN UP.

Haha I think I'm a little delerious right now. this entry is not making any sense, is not being funny or entertaining, and i've decided to stop capitalizing. eventually the apostrophe's will too. maybe even the punctuation.

aha, a topic i can definitely write on. so i'm going to london this january for a london theatre class (doesn't my school rock??). i'm also going to find an attractive, British (it needed to be capitalized) boy. or love interest. or husband. i'm not sure if kelly or i decided first that we were marrying across the seas, but my chance is coming first. unfortunately it's only three weeks while kelly is going across europe for a month next year, without me i might add.

personally, accents give guys points already. in order of favorite to least favorite the best accents are-british, irish & french (tied), australian, and italian. i dunno about others. russian is a bit weird, i'm biased to spanish because i'm in texas, and german sometimes is scary.

well, i think this entries over. i'll go distract myself some more. mmm....beautiful british guys....

Next Stop, Gaspard Ulliel!

So... Mary (my roommate) and I, are awesome. And while looking at those really awesome Barnes & Noble bags, the ones with all the quotes from the beginnings of books (I looked for a picture of it online but I can't find any), we just thought it was such a great idea. Then we thought of another great idea. We should make our own! With all the books we brought to school, plus other awesome books we like! So we decided we'd make a poster, once we got all the first lines we wanted.
So we looked through our books, then we looked on the internet for the books we didn't bring. Then I started looking for some good translations of The Aeneid, which we did some translating of in high school, and all the translations I found online were just awful. So I thought to myself, "If only I brought my senior year Latin notebook to school with me this year..." And then I thought, "Did I?"
So I looked where I thought it might be, and I found last year's (freshmen year's) Latin spiral, and started flipping through it, when I foouunnddd:
Pro Archia Poeta! I really enjoyed that last year. So I looked through those pages, and I found the first book... and I was not in class the day we worked on that (go to class, kids). So I figured, how hard can it be to translate one sentence of this.
Well, let me tell you. It can be hard. Damn hard. I've finished like, the first line (very roughly) and you know... only like.. 50 more words to go. But now that I've started, I can't possibly stop. And even now that I've found a decent translation online and I realize, this isn't really the part I like so much and I should probably go to one of the books I know better, I just want to keep translating.

Which makes me wonder.
Why the hell did I stop taking Latin?
So I asked Alisha, and she reminded me that I'm taking French now. I wanted to learn a language I could speak... so that I can meet Gaspard Ulliel, and say to him:

Bonjour Monsieur, je m'appelle, Kelly. Comment vous applez-vous?
(and he would hopefully reply)
Je m'appelle Gaspard, merci.
(then I could say)
Comment allez-vous?
and he could say any of the following:
Je suis bien! or
Tres bien! or
Super! (with an awesome french accent)
je ne suis pas bien ( :( )
je suis malade ( :( )

Anything else he might say would just confuse me. Then I would have to say, "Sorry I'm only American, but I can translate some awesome Latin poetry for you, if you give me a month. Do you want to marry me yet?"

And if I had my french notebook I could say a few other things, like: my hair is blonde, I am short, that is a table; but that could come off as insulting to his vision and intelligence, I suppose.

So the moral of this story is: I am a nerd.

And on a completely different note:
I won't give it to you because you're an ASSHOLE!
dick.

Tuesday, September 9, 2008

My War Paint is Sharpie Ink

So I'm just gonna copy Alisha's idea (because I'm a follower!)... give everyone a taste of who I am. Except of course my interests/dislikes are way cooler than hers.

First of all, much to my roommates dismay, my current musical obsession is The Mountain Goats. Seriously guys, they are so awesome. But it could take some getting used to, I think.

Some things I love; reading and re-reading Enders Game and Enders Shadow, watching awesome things like South Park, Amelie and Home Movies (the Adult Swim tv show). Olives, the old Facebook (the new one is slowing growing on me), sharpies, The Dark Knight, crayons, Gene Kelly, Arrested Development, homemade chicken pot pie, The Nightmare Before Christmas, being around large bodies of water, flowers that continue to live, thunderstorms, being right on time for things, my copy of The Complete Tales and Poems of Winnie the Pooh, playing Mario Kart 64 and winning (I don't really mind losing, its just that I usually don't and thats one of the only things I get competitive about. That and being more awesome than someone else). Stumble has lost me many hours of productivity, but I love it. I am currently re-reading all of the Harry Potter books and loving it (its been so long since I've read the early ones).
Evil Iguana Productions; This gets it's own little paragraph because it's just so awesome. I was just going to say the Allen and Craig show, but all their stuff is amazing. Never before have I watched so many people vomit and wanted to try what they were doing. I mean really, 15 Capri Suns can't be that many.

Now, because I'm feeling so brave, I shall tell you some of my "secret" guilty pleasures. There is no specific order to these, and some are much more guilty than others. For example, my love of the the Jonas Brothers is a much better kept secret than my love of Avatar: the Last Airbender. Everyone knows that I like the Twilight series but that doesn't mean I'm not deeply ashamed of it. I have been known to enjoy kids books, more specifically, 9 year old boy books (i.e. Artemis Fowl). I can find entertainment in certain Disney channel shows/movies, as well as some other not-so-great-but-somehow-incredibly-addicting shows, like Gossip Girls. I've recently been reading a bunch of Oh No They Didn't, and you should too. I also really like that one song by Miley Cyrus. I'm sure there are more things, I can't think of any now though...

I can't stand when boys have Facial hair; any kind (especially mustaches. Seriously guys, what makes your nose so important that it needs to be underlined?) some people can get away with it... but not if you have blonde or red hair. For real. Got to have very very dark hair and keep it neat.
I also hate Jell-o, pudding, pie (though I have been known to eat pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving), and mousse (the kind you eat, I love the kind for hair). I pretty awful about calling people, as well as writing papers (like I should be doing now) and when people call Vitamin Water water. And I know I'm not the only one who hates when the bottoms of your pants get wet then you sit on your legs and the rest of your pants get wet as well. I won't watch scary movies, and right now I can't stand the fact that there isn't a dining hall in my dorm this year (only because I'm sick and don't want to walk around campus).

Okay I think thats enough for one entry.

aaaaaaaaaaaaand its your turn again, Alisha.

Ron, you are possibly the most insensitive wart I have ever had the misfortune to meet!

No, the titles don't make sense, but they're good quotes anyway. I'd rather read a good quote before an entry than a short summary of what it is. I'm gonna find out anyway. Plus, Kelly started it.

I suppose I'll write this entry with an introductory flair. Let's see...I love words, opening Kleenex boxes, jazz and swing music, spaghetti-o's, chick flicks, musicals, witty repartee, organizing things, reading good books for the first time, talking though I never know what to say, Carol Daeley, sweet things cold and salty things hot, the one exception to that rule-frozen fish sticks, manapua, and hazelnut flavored things. I don't like blatant stupidity, sweet things hot and salty things cold, pop culture phenomenons (even though I give into them sometimes!), our cafeteria food, voice mail, community bathrooms, pride, horror films, loud sudden sounds and youtube/imdb forum replies.

Past obsessions include Tom Cruise (or MI2), Dream Street, classic books, Hairspray, mystery books, Pride & Prejudice, architecture, marine biology, putting fire in the middle of our Rube Goldberg project for physics, archaeology, marching band, sewing, choosing Homecoming/Prom outfits, and most recently, getting the best grade in my Biology classes (which I very recently abandoned for an English major and deprioritized to a minor). Current obsessions include Twilight, the movie, Robert Pattinson (only a little), Evil Iguana Productions (only because of Kelly), and reading all the good books I can get my hands on. Funny, most of the current ones are because of Kelly, not just EIP.

Sooo Kelly, ball's in your court!

Sunday, September 7, 2008

Hast Thou Considered The Tetrapod

Well hi.
As it says at the top, sometimes only talking about Twilight gets boring. I like to have options.
So here I've gone and created another way to procrastinate on schoolwork. I'm really looking forward to having a place to write random things that probably no one will read. I could probably come up with some awesome things right now, but I need to go to bed.

Sooo another time!